Parliamentary Committee on appointment of Chief Election Commissioner and Members of the Election Commission meets

Islamabad, June 17, 2016 (PPI-OT):A meeting of the Parliamentary Committee on Appointment of the Chief Election Commissioner and members of the Election Commission was held on the 17th June, 2016 at Parliament House, Islamabad for election of its Chairman.

The Special Secretary, National Assembly, thanked the honourable members for their participation and apprised them of the procedure for election of Chairman. Therefore, the process commenced and Mr. Muhammad Junaid Anwar Chaudhry, MNA proposed the name of Senator Pervaiz Rashid for the Chairman of the Committee. Nawab Muhammad Yusuf Talpur, MNA seconded the proposed name. There was no other candidate, therefore, Senator Pervaiz Rashid was declared as elected Chairman.

The Special Secretary also congratulated the Chairman on behalf of the Honourable Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Secretary National Assembly; assured him full support from the National Assembly Secretariat.

Thereafter, the Chairman upon his election presided over the meeting. He thanked all the members for reposing confidence in him by electing him as Chairman of the Committee. The members reciprocated and assured him of their full support for effective conduct of business of the Committee for the achievement of objectives of its constitution. Fatiha was also offered on the death of wife of Nawab Muhammad Yusuf Talpur, MNA.

The meeting was attended by Senator Mir Kabeer Ahmed Muhammad Shahi, Senator Muhammad Daud Khan, Achakzai, Mr. Zahid Hamid, Ministry of Science and Technology Mr. Muhammad Junaid Anwar Chaudhry, Mr. Muhammad Arshad Khan Leghari, Nawab Muhammad Yusuf Talpur, Shazia Marri, Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Hussain Qureshi, MNAs and Sheikh Aftab Ahmed, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, and Senior officers of the National Assembly Secretariat.

For more information, contact:
Karamat Hussain Niazi
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106