27th meeting of the Standing Committee on Commerce held in the Parliament House, Islamabad, under the Chairmanship of Syed Naveed Qamar 

Islamabad, October 22, 2021 (PPI-OT):The Advisor for Commerce, Textile and Investment briefed the Committee on Transit trade to Azerbaijan and CARs via Iran. He informed that Pakistani logistics companies are getting TIR Licenses and this practice by the banks will leave no possibility of transit through Iran. He added that Ministry of Commerce supports the recommendation of the parliamentarians for facilitating transit through Iran via Tafton Border for exports to Central Asian Republics, Azerbaijan, Iraq, Turkey etc.

He further informed that State Bank of Pakistan is not issuing E Forms for the exports to Central Asian Republics and other bordering countries with Iran for transit via Iran although no banking transactions take place between Iran and Pakistan for transit of goods through Iran.

The Chair pointed out that a large number of complaints of stopping of goods are receiving from borders. Syed Naveed Qamar emphasized on the Ministry of Commerce to set a mechanism for a quick resolution of these day to day issues and ensure free flow of goods at the borders.

The Committee also discussed a ban on livestock and poultry. The Ministry of Commerce informed the Committee that Peshawar High Court has lifted the ban on export of poultry and its products. The Ministry congratulated the Chair and Members of the Committee for their interest and directives regarding the presence of this case in the court of law as a top priority.

The Committee also discussed a starred Question, referred from the Assembly. The Committee deferred agenda items 2 relating to status of previous recommendations and agenda items 3 relating to further discussion on “The Trade Organizations (Amendment) Bill, 2021” for the next meeting of the Committee.

The Committee unanimously approved the minutes of its previous meeting. The meeting was attended by Mr. Muhammad Yaqoob Shaikh, Mian Muhammad Shafiq, Ms. Sajida Begum, Mrs. Farukh Khan, Mr. Usman Ibrahim, Rana Iradat Sharif Khan, Mr. Rasheed Ahmed Khan, Mrs. Tahira Aurangzeb, and Syed Javed Ali Shah Jelani, MNAs. The meeting was also attended by Ms. Zille Huma, MNA/Mover and Mr. Abdul Razak Dawood, the Advisor for Commerce, Textile and Investment along with senior officers from the Ministry of Commerce.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre, National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House, Islamabad, Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106
Email: assembly@na.gov.pk
Website: www.na.gov.pk

Leave a Reply