17th meeting of the Standing Committee on Planning Development and Special Initiatives held

Islamabad, April 12, 2021 (PPI-OT): 17th meeting of the Standing Committee on Planning Development and Special Initiatives was held today at 2:00 p.m. in Committee Room No.2, Second Floor, Ministry of Planning Development and Special Initiatives, Pak Secretariat, Islamabad, under the Chairmanship of Mr. Junaid Akbar, MNA. 2. The Committee unanimously confirmed minutes of its previous meeting held on 10th February, 2021. The Ministry gave a compliance report regarding the recommendations of the previous meeting.

However, the Committee raised its concerns over the issues raised regarding Diamer-Bhasha Dam and Kartarpur Corridor Projects and recommended that the Ministry may come up with satisfactory responses and action till the next Committee meeting. 3. The representatives of the Ministry of Planning, Development and Special Initiatives, gave an in-depth review regarding the ongoing Public Sector Development Program (PSDP) Projects of the Ministry for the year 2020-21.

While discussing those projects, it was recommended that the Ministry ought to ensure that the funds allocated for development projects were not being spent on recurring basis for the same projects indefinitely. Moreover, it was also recommended that performance audit of some ongoing projects may be conducted to evaluate their feasibility and utility. The Committee was also briefed regarding the various Special Economic Zones being developed under purview of China Pakistan Economic Corridor.

It was also highlighted that there was a lack of co-ordination between the PSDP projects of the Federal Government and the Annual Development Programs (ADP) of the Provincial Governments especially with regards to Ex-FATA areas. The Committee recommended that the Ministry may take measures to bring harmony and coherence in the PSDPs and ADPs for their proper execution and to avoid duplication of efforts.

Honourable Members/MNAs Mr. Sher Akbar Khan, Mr. Shaukat Ali, Syed Faiz Ul Hassan, Mr. Nawab Sher, Mr. Muhammad Ibrahim Khan, Mr. Muhammad Sajjad, Mr. Ahsan Iqbal Chaudhary, Sardar Muhammad Irfan Dogar, Mr. Abdul Shakoor, Sahibzada Sibghatullah and senior officers from the Ministry of Planning, Development and Special Initiatives attended the meeting.

For more information, contact:
National Assembly of Pakistan
Automation Centre,
National Assembly Secretariat,
Parliament House,
Islamabad – Pakistan
Tel: +92-51-9221082-83
Fax: +92-51-9221106
Email: assembly@na.gov.pk
Website: www.na.gov.pk

Share this Article